top of page

Diane Bellemare Joins Independent Senators Group


For immediate release

Diane Bellemare Joins Independent Senators Group

OTTAWA, November 14, 2019 – Senator Diane Bellemare (Alma, Quebec) announced today that she will be joining the Independent Senators Group (ISG).

“By joining the Independent Senators Group, I hope to continue the modernization efforts already undertaken in the Upper Chamber,” said Bellemare. “As an original member of the ISG and following the leadership role I assumed for three and a half years within the Office of the Government Representative in the Senate, it was only natural for me to join this group.”

Appointed to the Senate in 2012 by Prime Minister Stephen Harper, Bellemare sat as a member of the Conservative caucus until 2016 when she left the caucus to be one of the original founders of the ISG. Shortly after, she joined the Government Representative’s Office as its legislative deputy during the 42nd Parliament.

Bellemare has a PhD in Economics from McGill and has taught at the University of Quebec at Montreal. She has published several books and academic articles in the areas of macroeconomics, labour economics, and public policy. She served two terms on the Economic Council of Canada, as well as on the National Statistics Council. As president and CEO of the Société Québécoise de développement de la main-d’œuvre, Bellemare oversaw federal and provincial labour force development programs.

Senator Yuen Pau Woo, facilitator of the Independent Senators Group, said: “We warmly welcome back Senator Bellemare to the ISG, and look forward to working with her. Senator Bellemare has a deep knowledge of economic and public policy, and a special interest in human resources development. She is also deeply committed to a less partisan, more accountable, and better functioning Senate. We are fortunate to have her in the Upper House and as a member of the ISG.”

Bellemare’s addition brings the ISG to 51 members, the largest group in the Upper Chamber.


For more information, please contact:

Ro Izzetpanah

Communications Coordinator

Independent Senators Group Secretariat

Established in 2016, The Independent Senators Group (ISG) is committed to a non-partisan Senate and the modernization of the Upper House of Canada’s Parliament. With 51 members, the ISG is the largest parliamentary group in the Senate. Composed of independents not affiliated with any political caucus, ISG Senators work cooperatively but act independently.

The ISG’s Facilitator is Senator Yuen Pau Woo (BC) and the Deputy Facilitator is Raymonde Saint-Germain (QC), each elected by members on a two-year term.

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page