top of page

Independent Senators Group Celebrates the Passage of Bill C-210

Independent Senators Group (ISG) Bill C-210 OTTAWA, January 31, 2018 – The Independent Senators Group (ISG) celebrates the passage of Bill C-210 which amends Canada’s national anthem by including gender-neutral language in the lyrics. “As our Olympians and Paralympians head to the Games, we look forward to many gold medal opportunities to hear the more inclusive words of our national anthem,” said Senator Yuen Pau Woo, Facilitator of the Independent Senators Group (ISG). It has taken 19 months for Bill C-210 to clear the Senate. “After many months of inaction and delay, we are glad that this bill has finally come to a vote” said Senator Woo. Independent Senator Frances Lankin was the sponsor of Bill C-210 and played a leadership role in its passage. The previous sponsor, retired Conservative Senator Nancy Ruth was also in the Senate to celebrate the bill’s passage. Independent Senator Chantal Petitclerc initiated the process that brought C-210 to a vote. It is important to note that in a recently conducted poll, a majority of Canadians support movement on this bill. When asked, 73% of decided Canadians said that some Senators should not be able to prevent the Senate of Canada from voting on legislation that has passed the House of Commons.

You can find the Poll here.

“We also recognize the work Senator Vivienne Poy and of the late Mauril Bélanger, M.P., who originally sponsored the private members bill, the many others on Parliament Hill and the thousands of people across the country who have fought for over 30 years to make our National Anthem inclusive of all Canadians,” said Senator Woo.

Established in 2016, The Independent Senators Group (ISG) is committed to a non-partisan Senate and the modernization of the Upper House of Canada’s Parliament. With 39 members, the ISG is the largest parliamentary group in the Senate. Composed of independents not affiliated with any political caucus, ISG senators work cooperatively but take positions based on their individual scrutiny and analysis. ISG Senators believe that a strong, coherent and unified group will enhance the ability of the Senate as a whole to better serve Canadians.

The ISG’s Facilitator is Senator Yuen Pau Woo (BC) and the Deputy Facilitator is Raymonde Saint-Germain (QC), each elected by members on a two-year term (until 2019). ISG senators were appointed over the years by five different Prime Ministers, with most of the current membership selected through The Independent Advisory Board for Senate appointments process. #ISGsenate @ISGsenate


For more information, please contact: Aline Lafrenière Director of Communications Independent Senators Group (ISG) Secretariat 819-664-1564

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page