top of page

Independent Senators Group (ISG) Highlighting Two Years of Change

OTTAWA, March 7, 2018 – The rapid growth of the ISG from six to 43 Senators in just two years, the expectation that the ISG could become Canada’s Senate majority within a year, and the increasing presence of diverse independent voices not subject to partisan control have accelerated the modernization of the Senate to be a more effective chamber of sober second thought acting in the best interests of Canadians.

Senator Yuen Pau Woo, Facilitator of the ISG, is available to address the role of the ISG in the Upper Chamber’s modernization.

Established in 2016, The Independent Senators Group (ISG) is committed to a non-partisan Senate and the modernization of the Upper House of Canada’s Parliament. With 43 members, the ISG is the largest parliamentary group in the Senate. Composed of independents not affiliated with any political caucus, ISG Senators work cooperatively but act independently. On March 10, 2016, the Independent Non-partisan Senators Working Group was launched. On June 29, 2016, the Independent Senators Group (ISG) was formally announced.

The ISG’s Facilitator is Senator Yuen Pau Woo (BC) and the Deputy Facilitator is Raymonde Saint-Germain (QC), each elected by members on a two-year term (until 2019). ISG senators have been appointed over the years by five different Prime Ministers, with most of the current membership selected through The Independent Advisory Board for Senate appointments process. #ISGsenate @ISGsenat


For more information, please contact:

Aline Lafrenière

Director of Communications

Independent Senators Group (ISG) Secretariat


Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page